Chiclayo

100_7367

And there I was – in Chiclayo, first city of my backpacking trip in Peru. Well, I was a bit nervous because I didn’t really feel comfortable at that bus terminal. But finally I found my way to the city center.

First of all, I needed to shower and to change my clothes. It was really hot, although the locals of Chiclayo call that time of the year “winter”. Fair enough, for me as a European it was pretty warm and I was looking forward to a shower. After doing a walk around and checking the price offers, I booked myself into a cute hostel and went straight to the bathroom to refresh myself.

100_7372

After that I felt more like human being. Now I was relaxed and enjoyed my walk around and through the city. I had some lunch and visited the local market, where the people are selling everything from fresh fish or meat over cleaning supplies to everyday needs…well I always like it and in every city it is very interesting.

100_7369100_7370100_7371

The next day, a friend of mine showed me the nearby places, called Pimentel and Santa Rosa, which are located on the coast. It was a beautiful day and not busy at all because it is winter ;) and because it was actually to late for the fishers to work. We got there at around 11 am, so the fishers were latest out on 6 am and back earlier than 11 am.  There were not many locals or tourists, a bit strange, but what can you do…and someway I really enjoyed myself! You can imagine that, I guess.

100_7402100_7378100_7389100_7390100_7379

For lunch I was invited to a really nice and good restaurant. There I tried some local food and I had to try Ceviche again. I already ate it one time in Lima, where I couldn’t finish it, somehow it was too spicy and to strong. But now I was presented to different types of Ceviches. Wow!! When you eat it in small portions, it is really good.

100_7433For your info, Ceviche is fresh raw fish marinated in citrus juices. Before that I already had fish soup. I have to tell, that my stomach was not working properly since I left Bogotá. But you know what!?! After that lunch, I was feeling so good and after that I didn’t have more problems. Thanks to the good Peruvian food and of course thanks to my new friends and the nice locals, everything was fine. I was delighted, thankful and pleased.

100_7435100_7431

Later on, we had another beautiful walk through the city and a drive with the “taxi” :).

100_7418100_7412100_7410

After all, my stay in Chiclayo was really good, but too short – I only stayed there one night, but I would like to go back and visit the nice folks, I met there. Moreover it would be awesome to try some surfing when it is actually summer time there. Thanks very much.

100_7423

About chrisincolombia

;-) www.chrisincolombia.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Peru and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chiclayo

  1. I like your blog! Great fotos – I especially like the beach pics. Don’t worry, I recovered from the dog bite :)

  2. Hey, you look very familiar to me. Were you on the boat from Yurimaguas to Iquitos back in July? I think I remember seeing you on that boat. If not you, sorry for the mixup :)

Leave a Reply

